Choosing The Right Surgical Gown

Choosing The Right Surgical Gown

Who Needs A Medical Gown?

Surgical gowns are important in the personal protection of a health care worker as well as the patient they are treating. It is vital to understand the risk level you are entering and the proper level of protection you need. Here is some basic information you need to know.

Four Levels of Protection

Protective surgical gowns are regulated by a set of standards and tests for manufacturers by AAMI. The number of protection levels you will see range from 1 to 4, with 4 providing the most protection. What do these levels correspond to?

Level 1 Surgical Gown: Minimal fluid barrier protection used during basic care, standard medical unit. 
Level 2 Surgical Gown: Minimal to low fluid barrier protection, such as during blood draw, suturing, ICU, pathology lab.
Level 3 Surgical Isolation Gown: Moderate fluid barrier protection, such as drawing arterial blood, inserting IV lines.
Level 4 Surgical Isolation Gown: High fluid barrier protection, used during long fluid intensive procedures, and operations with blood borne pathogen risk. 

What Is A Reinforced Surgical Gown?

There are two types of reinforced surgical gowns you typically see on the market, fabric reinforced and poly reinforced gowns. Critical zones that are important for reinforcement are the front chest, sleeve seam, sleeve, and front belt attachment point. Typically fabric reinforced gowns meet a Level 3 protection, while poly reinforced are a level 4 protection.

The Right One!

Making the right surgical gown selection is important to everyones health. Understanding your role in a procedure, how long it will last, and your exposure to how much fluid will help you choose the correct level of protective surgical gown you will need.

At KeeboMed we have a variety of surgical gowns proven to be of great quality and an affordable price.




Older Post Newer Post